I’ve just discovered Prep Dish, and I’m pretty impressed!

First let me say that I do not advocate a “Paleo” diet. I don’t have anything against the diet itself, I am all for any plan that encourages people to eat whole foods with less sugar and processed junk. However, I do not agree with limiting things like dairy and grains, as I believe that they are an essential part of any diet. I also don’t agree with the junk science that goes along with many Paleo advocates claims, but that’s another post! Some of the meals are pretty amazing, and that I am cool with.

That being said, I had been looking for a meal plan that worked for me, as I am planning challenged when it comes to keeping variety in my plan. I always seem to get stuck on the same 5 or 6 meals, and that’s it. Enter Prep Dish! They offer a weekly meal plan complete with grocery list AND prep instructions, so that you can spend 2-3 hours one day prepping all of your meals for the week. They offer a gluten free and Paleo option, and you have access to both each week. You get 4 meals, and desert and breakfast option. And, of course, you can sub in any of your grain or non Paleo based options for any meal.

I signed up for the free 14 day trial, printed my meal plan for the next 4 weeks and headed to the grocery store to do this week’s shopping. I actually spent far less than I have been as of late! My grocery stores didn’t have a couple of the items I needed for the week (parsnips and a fennel bulb), so I will have to hit the produce market tomorrow. I came home, got everything put away and began my prep.

Overall it took about 3 hours, and I have at least 2 nights of minestrone soup, pecan crusted salmon, herbed chicken with a chipotle sweet potato and roasted red pepper soup, almond flour banana muffins (it called for bread, but I had to make muffins because I forgot that my toddler smashed my bread dish!), Italian salad, homemade vinaigrette and dark chocolate, crushed walnut and dried cranberry drops for the kids. I also made enough hard-boiled eggs for snacks for the week, and bought only enough apples for the week, instead of my usual big bag that just ends up going bad.

I’m really proud of myself for getting back to spending my Sunday meal prepping, and I can’t wait to try all of the meals in the plan! Of course I was taste testing as I was going, and so far everything is amazing! For $14.99/month, I’ll probably end up keeping this for a little while since it makes everything so super simple!

 

Leave a Reply

